Programming Font: Inconsolata

Time for another of my favorite programming fonts: Inconsolata.

Inconsolata specimen

Inconsolata specimen from fontsquirrel.com.

As its creator states, it bears a resemblance to the Consolas font that ships with more recent Windows versions, and which isn’t all that bad either. This one has a bit of an edge in my opinion: it’s freely available so I’m good to go on my Mac with it.

It’s a bit sharper and bolder than Droid Sans Mono, and the letters are a bit more spaced out. So, based on your mood, I could see using either one. For some reason it also reminds me warmly of the monospaced font Sun would use in their old Java books in the 90’s – probably Vera Sans Mono.

Leave a Reply

